Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

This curriculum has been statutory from September 2008 and revised in September 2012 and amalgamates a curriculum for the under 3's and the Foundation stage curriculum. It provides standards for learning, development and care for children from Birth to Five.


The aim of the EYFS is that every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfil their fullest potential. A childs experience in the Early Years has a major impact on their life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right and provides the foundation for children to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.


The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the 5 Every Child Matters outcomes of;

  1. Staying safe
  2. Being Healthy
  3. Enjoying and Achieving
  4. Making a Positive Contribution
  5. Achieving Economic Wellbeing



Foundation Years Website